Mother’s Day 2017

I hope everyone had a wonderful Mother’s Day. Mine turned out pretty well considering  we had a very sick kid the night before.

On Friday, May 12, I was able to leave Emi at home with Ten so that I could go to Mia’s school for a Mother’s Day party. This is a rare treat. Emi always tags along, so Mia was looking forward to it just being the two of us.

Mia likes to growl at the camera recently. They are learning about dinosaurs in school right now, so that may have something to do with it. The kids baked muffins all week, and the teachers sliced up some watermelon as a treat for the moms. The moms actually ate zero though…haha. Instead the kids ate them like they had never seen food before! 5 year olds have huge appetities!

 

After snacks and a story, we were able to explore the classroom a little bit. Mia wanted me to read through her journal, so that took up most of our time.

What is something you can do to help mom? Take care of Emi for Mom.

 

Finally, we ended the morning with a very cute sing a long. This is the highlight for the moms, no doubt. I am totally enjoying the preschool years. I’m so excited that Mia will get to continue her “Kindergarten” year at this school.

 

 

Oh, we also each got a pink gift bag and inside was a pretty marigold and all the beaded jewelry a girl could ask for. Mia was so proud to give me her gift, and I really do appreciate all of the hard work and care she put into it.

My little love bug also made me a beaded necklace and a cute picture frame.

As you can see, not feeling the best here. We spent a lot of time on the couch.

 

Emi made me a bouquet of flowers. One flower handprint with 4 stems….still scratching my head on that one….but I love it.

 

On actual Mother’s Day, we decided not to go out. Emi was sick, and I honestly just wanted to hang out at home. Ten made pancakes for breakfast, we cleaned, I took a nap while they cleaned, and I got a few special gifts.

My girls believe that a Mother’s Day gift equals flowers….and hey….that’s fine with me. I love having fresh flowers in the house. Here is the bouquet that they gifted me.

 

I told Ten that I didn’t need any gifts, and I didn’t need to go out anywhere this year. He still decided he wanted to do something, so he took Mia on a walk (Emi didn’t want to go). When they came back, they had this massive lunch for me. Fried pickles and a chili cheese burger with jalapenos. Oh my…so heavy but good. Also, it was nice eating at home without having to chase kids around a restaurant. There are days when I literally run on coffee and exhaustion. I skip tons of meals (terribly unhealthy), so this was a luxury.

Later in the day, I checked my phone and saw a text that my sister-in-law had sent me a gift card to Amazon! This was so unexpected that it totally made my day! It was such a nice gesture that won’t be forgotten.

So, that was my Mother’s Day in a nutshell. I got to rest and got several small gifts throughout the day. Really nice and chill. Loved it.

However, it wasn’t quite over because the following day I received this in the mail.

 

 

It was a book from my mom. I LOVE this gift. I have actually been wanting to read this book, so it came at the perfect time. Beautiful cover. I’m ditching the other books I’m reading right now to start this one.

So, that was my Mother’s Day 2017. I really enjoyed it. Now, I have to figure out what to do for Father’s Day!! Only a few weeks to go.

 

Leave a Reply

