Intercourse, Paradise, and Bird-in-Hand, PA

 This was THE best part of our trip, at least for me. I also know my mom really liked it. I could spend time in Pennsylvania Dutch Country every week and not get tired of it.

This is me excited to be in Amish country. Posing next to two signs….yes, random.

  

One of the many, many buggies we saw this day. I was actually worried that I wouldn’t see any Amish/Menonite/Brethren before we arrived in Lancaster County which now I know is ridiculous as it is called Amish Country for a reason.


We arrived in Intercourse pretty early in the morning and first stopped into this little store where my mom bought the girls bonnets! So cute, and believe me I am finding excuses here for wearing them 😉  

By the way, notice Emi’s clothes, it was the Fourth of July.

  

Mia also in a patriotic shirt.

 

Another buggy…these things were so much faster than what I had imagined.


We walked to a shopping area called Kitchen Kettle Village and spent the morning here sampling ice cream, cheeses, meats, etc. They also had tons of home decor that Ten loved looking at. Total tourist trap, and we loved every minute of it.  

Playing some tunes outside of the store. Thank you kind store for not caring if kids come and “play” the piano. We definitely bought a few things here.

  

Everything looks cuter in a bonnet. Emi milking a cow…btw…i cannot wait to read Little House on the Prairie with the girls…fyi, I hated that show as a child…haha

  

 After a hard one hour of shopping, we decided to get some homemade ice cream. This was so, so good and creamy. It was among the best I have tried. 

The girls sharing a strawberry scoop and a scoop of chocolate.


Next we visited several different shops.  

Hi Uncle Sam!

  

The girls didn’t care much for the meats and cheeses at this shop, but they wanted a picture with the pig.

  

We also visited a shop that made all kinds of salsas, jams, butters, etc. i LOVED this place. Ten snapped this picture before he saw the sign that says no photos. oops, very hard working Amish ladies here making all kinds of yummy things.

 
Before we arrived in Intercourse
we decided that we were not going to take a buggy ride. We just felt like it was too expensive, and we could drive through the farmland ourselves. 
However

, Mia and Emi really, really wanted to. They had been good all morning doing adult things like shopping, so Ten thought we should do it for them. I was very reluctant, but it ended up being the best part of our trip.

Emi talking to the horses. She loves animals more than any kid I know.

  

In the buggy and ready to go…and yes, Mia is sitting in the front seat.

  

Sweet picture.


And we are off. We rode through miles of farm land and Amish houses. Everyone knew our driver and we even stopped in at one house. Tourist trap to buy some cookies from an Amish family….loved it and bought the cookies 😉
  

Our very kind guide who let Mia drive the buggy! She loved this so much. I was so impressed with this man. He fully listened to everything Mia had to say and seemed to really enjoy her company. I honestly believe this has to do with their lifestyle. People seem to come first, and I felt like we are really doing it wrong…us in the modern world.

  

Go Mia!

  

Beautiful. Amazing so see houses and land without any electric lines.


I took so many pictures of the buggy ride, but I can’t post them all here. That was just a little sample.

  Next we went to a smorgasbord in Bird-in-hand. We wanted to try some different authentic dishes and this was apparently the place to go.

They had the cutest Noah’s Ark buffet for kids. Our girls love thst story, so they thought this was really cool…amd Mia enjoyed serving herself from it.

  

Starting with a very unhealthy but really awesome salad. The local cheeses were really good.

  

While I skipped a few authentic dishes (here’s looking at you ham ball), I tried almost everything else. Tasty meatloaf, zuchinni casserole (liked), Amish shepherd’s pie (ok), sauerkraut and pork (liked), and so many more things. BTW…my mom tried the ham ball…and while not bad, not something I would choose to eat.

  

A scary leopard peaking out of the window. Mia loved being able to serve herself at the little buffet.

  

So many good desserts….a whoopie pie (way too sweet for me) and some peanut butter fluff.

  

After we were overly stuffed, we packed up and headed to Paradise, PA… PaPa and the girls on is bike.

  

Driving down the road, we saw a huge number of horses and buggies. It was a charity event for kids in need.

    
 

P.S. Typos again that I can’t fix because of the app I use….may have to use the computer in the future.

Leave a Reply

